Dr.rer.pol.hc.Thomas Sattelberger

Chairman of the Board at the educational initiative BDA/BDI „MINT Zukunft schaffen“

How much irritation does true enterprise transformation need?

Based on his personal background of extensive work experience at global players such as Daimler, Lufthansa, Continental and Deutsche Telekom, Thomas Sattelberger will discuss the correlation between good or bad leadership culture and successful transformation and innovative ability. He’ll also cover the lack of innovation in medium sized businesses in regards to the dichotomy of perfect machine culture versus experimental digital culture. Sattelberger will also point out four major fields of action linked by the common element of irritation that point the way to a new, different future. Failure included! But ultimately transformative and aspirational leadership proofs most effective.

CV

Thomas Sattelberger is a former top manager and has been a member of the German parliament since October 2017. Born in Munderkingen in 1949, he holds a Master of Business Administration degree. Sattelberger was Director of Human Resources and Labor Director at Deutsche Telekom (2007-2012) and Continental (2003-2007). Previously he worked at Deutsche Lufthansa AG in Frankfurt from 1994 to 2003, where Sattelberger started as HR Director and became Operational Airline Director for Product & Services in 1999. From 1975 to 1989, Thomas Sattelberger held various management positions with the former Daimler-Benz AG and from 1989-2003 with former Daimler-Benz Aerospace (now Airbus).

In addition to his supervisory and advisory activities, he has been a volunteer in charge of the BDA / BDI initiative “MINT Zukunft” since 2008. He was co-founder and spokesman of the National MINT Forum and long-serving advisor to the Deutschland Fellowship. Thomas Sattelberger is Chairman to the Advisory Board of the University Alliance for SMEs and a Fellow of the International Academy of Management. He is a columnist for “Manager Magazine” as well as the publisher and author of over a dozen books on corporate transformation, leadership and strategic HR.

Dr.rer.pol.hc.Thomas Sattelberger

Vorstandsvorsitzender der BDA/BDI- Initiative „MINT-Zukunft schaffen“

Wieviel Irritation braucht echte Unternehmenstransformation?

Ausgehend von seinen persönlichen Erfahrungshintergründen in Elefanten-Unternehmen wie Daimler, Lufthansa, Conti und der Deutschen Telekom diskutiert Thomas Sattelberger den engen Zusammenhang von guter oder schlechter Führungskultur mit erfolgreicher Transformation und Innovationsfähigkeit. Er schlägt dabei auch den Bogen zum Mittelstand und dessen zunehmender Innovationsarmut: Perfekte Maschinenkultur versus experimenteller Digitalkultur. Vier große mit Irritation verknüpfte Handlungsfelder weisen den Weg in eine neue, andere Zukunft. Fehlschlag inklusive! Doch schlussendlich ist es transformative Führung mit Zukunftsaspiration, die am wirksamsten ist.

Vita

Thomas Sattelberger ist früherer Top- Manager und seit Oktober 2017 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestags.  Der 1949 in Munderkingen / Donau geborene Diplom-Betriebswirt (Duale Hochschule) war  2007-2012 Personalvorstand und Arbeitsdirektor der Deutschen Telekom AG und von Juli 2003 bis zu seiner Bestellung bei Telekom in derselben Funktion Mitglied des Vorstandes der Continental AG in Hannover. Zuvor war er von 1994-2003 bei der Deutschen Lufthansa AG in Frankfurt, zuerst  als Personaldirektor und ab 1999 als operativer  Airline-Vorstand für Produkt & Service. Von 1975 – 1989 war Thomas Sattelberger in unterschiedlichen Managementpositionen bei der  damaligen Daimler-Benz AG und von 1989-2003 bei der damaligen Daimler-Benz Aerospace (heute Airbus) tätig

Neben Aufsichtsrats–und Beiratstätigkeiten leitet er seit 2008 ehrenamtlich die BDA/BDI-Initiative MINT Zukunft schaffen, war Co-Gründer und Sprecher des Nationalen MINT-Forums sowie langjähriger Beiratsvorsitzender des Deutschland-Stipendiums. Thomas Sattelberger ist Beiratsvorsitzender der Hochschulallianz für den Mittelstand  und Fellow der International Academy of Management. Er ist Kolumnist des ManagerMagazins sowie Herausgeber und Autor von über einem Dutzend Bücher zu Unternehmenstransformation, Führung und strategischer Personalarbeit.