Thomas Külpp

Chief Information Officer Opel Automobile GmbH

1,350 systems in 880 days: What the transition from GM to Groupe PSA means for Opel IT

Opel/Vauxhall have been part of Groupe PSA since August 1, 2017. Previously, the Rüsselsheim-based carmaker had been part of the General Motors family for 88 years – and was fully integrated, especially with regard to IT solutions. Ever since the change of ownership, Opel IT has mainly been focusing on one project: the fast, safe and efficient relocation of the solutions into the Groupe PSA system environment. This is always performed in line with PACE!, Opel’s future plan, which will help to company become sustainably profitable, global and electric.

And “PACE!” or speed is also key in the IT transition program. The team around Thomas Külpp wants to have successfully completed the takeover of the GM systems by the end of 2019 already. In parallel, the team is working intensively on the integration of these systems into the Groupe PSA system environment. In doing so, synergy effects and innovations are paramount.

The CIO will explain precisely how he wants to achieve this at the automotiveIT Kongress 2019.

CV

After graduating from the RheinMain University of Applied Sciences in Wiesbaden, Thomas Külpp started his career at Opel as a mechanical engineer in 1989. He has over 25 years of experience in manufacturing IT, where he held various positions.

After managing IT at several Opel production sites and completing an international assignment in the US, he moved to Sales & Marketing to assume responsibility for all Opel S&M systems.

The father of two children has been Chief Information Officer of Opel Automobile GmbH since August 2017.  In this position he is, amongst other things, responsible for the migration of the Opel IT landscape to Groupe PSA systems.

Thomas Külpp

Chief Information Officer Opel Automobile GmbH

1350 Systeme in 880 Tagen: Was der Übergang von GM zur Groupe PSA für die Opel IT bedeutet.

Seit dem 1. August 2017 ist Opel/Vauxhall Teil der Groupe PSA. Zuvor war der Rüsselsheimer Autobauer für 88 Jahre Teil der General Motors Familie – und besonders bei der IT vollständig in den US-Konzern integriert. Seit dem Eigentümerwechsel steht für die IT von Opel vor allem ein Projekt im Fokus: Der schnelle, sichere und effiziente Umzug in die Systemwelt der Groupe PSA . Das alles geschieht auch immer im Sinne von PACE!, dem Zukunftsplan mit dem Opel sich nachhaltig profitabel, global und elektrisch aufstellt.

Und „PACE“, also Geschwindigkeit, ist auch bei der IT-Transition Programm. Schon bis Ende 2019 will das Team um Thomas Külpp die komplette Übernahme der GM Systeme erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Parallel dazu wird mit Hochdruck an der Integration in die Groupe PSA Systemwelt gearbeitet. Dabei stehen vor allem Synergieeffekte und Innovationen im Vordergrund.

Wie genau er das bewerkstelligen will, verrät der CIO auf dem automotiveIT Kongress 2019.

Vita

Nach dem Studium an der Hochschule RheinMain in Wiesbaden, begann Thomas Külpp seine Karriere bei Opel als Maschinenbauingenieur im Jahr 1989. Er verfügt über 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Manufacturing IT, wo er in unterschiedlichen Positionen tätig war.

Nach der Leitung der IT an mehreren Opel-Produktionsstandorten und einem internationalen Einsatz in den USA, wechselte er in den Bereich Sales & Marketing, um die Verantwortung für alle Opel S&M-Systeme zu übernehmen.

Seit August 2017 verantwortet der zweifache Vater als Chief Information Officer der Opel Automobile GmbH unter anderem die Migration der Opel IT Applikationen in die Systemwelt der Groupe PSA.