Markus Schäfer

Member of the Divisional Board Mercedes-Benz Cars, Production and Supply Chain Management

Markus Schäfer has been Member of the Divisional Board Mercedes-Benz Cars responsible for Production and Supply Chain Management since January 2014. Prior to this, he was Vice President of Production Planning Mercedes-Benz Cars.

From 2010 through June 2013, he served as President and CEO of Mercedes-Benz’ U.S. plant in Tuscaloosa/Alabama, the traditional production location of the brand’s Sport Utility Vehicles. Before that, he was responsible for the production strategy of Mercedes-Benz Cars since 2007. In 2002 he took over the Production Engineering at the U.S. plant in Tuscaloosa/Alabama.

From 1999 to 2002, he was General Manager at the assembly plant Egyptian-German Automotive Company (EGA), after being responsible for the development of this production site within the Joint Venture EGA (Egyptian-German Automotive Company) from 1997 to 1999. Markus Schäfer gained first management responsibilities from 1995 to 1999 as Manager Project Planning International Projects. This includes the planning of the Mercedes-Benz assembly plant in Vietnam.

The graduated mechanical engineer (Technische Hochschule Darmstadt) joined the company as participant of the Management Associate Program of the former Daimler Benz AG’s Sindelfingen plant and started his career as production engineer in the bodyshop during the production start of the S-Class.

Markus Schäfer was born on 11.05.1965 in Weidenau, Germany.

Further information about the lecture will follow.

Markus Schäfer

Mitglied des Bereichsvorstands Mercedes-Benz Cars, Produktion und Supply Chain Management

Markus Schäfer ist seit Januar 2014 Mitglied des Bereichsvorstands Mercedes-Benz Cars, Produktion und Supply Chain Management. Zuvor war er seit Juli 2013 für die Produktionsplanung Mercedes-Benz Pkw verantwortlich.

Von 2010 bis Juni 2013 leitete er das US-Werk von Mercedes-Benz in Tuscaloosa/Alabama, den traditionellen Fertigungsstandort der SUV-Baureihen. Von 2007 bis 2010 verantwortete er die Produktionsstrategie Mercedes‑Benz Cars. Im Jahr 2002 übernahm er im US-Werk Tuscaloosa die Leitung des Bereichs Production Engineering.

In den Jahren von 1999 bis 2002 leitete er das Mercedes-Benz Montagewerk in Kairo, nachdem er von 1997 bis 1999 für den Aufbau dieses Produktionsstandorts innerhalb des Joint Ventures EGA (Egyptian-German Automotive Company) zuständig war. Erste Führungsverantwortung sammelte Markus Schäfer von 1995 bis 1997 als Teamleiter der Projektplanung Auslandsprojekte. Dazu gehörte unter anderem auch die Planung des Mercedes-Benz Montagewerks in Vietnam.

Der diplomierte Maschinenbauingenieur (Technische Hochschule Darmstadt) trat 1990 als Teilnehmer der Nachwuchsgruppe des Werks Sindelfingen in die damalige Daimler-Benz AG ein und startete seine Karriere als Betriebsingenieur im Rohbau beim Anlauf der S-Klasse.

Markus Schäfer wurde am 11. Mai 1965 in Weidenau geboren.

Weitere Informationen z. B. zum Inhalt des Vortrages folgen sobald verfügbar.