Jan Brecht

Chief Information Officer (CIO), Daimler AG

Digital Beyond The Buzzword

Digitalization has become a matter of course in our everyday lives. Beyond the buzzword, it has many facets and is not only transforming us and our environment, but also experiencing development itself. At Daimler, this transformation bears the name CASE – Connected, Autonomous, Shared & Services, and Electric. The key driving force here is the IT strategy “Data Is the New Oil”, because data-driven services for vehicles are the raw material of the future.

In his keynote speech, Jan Brecht gives insights into IT at Daimler and how innovations beyond mere buzzwords are promoting digitalization in very specific ways. This includes how artificial intelligence and the cloud are revolutionizing the IT back end, why every vehicle and factory will soon have a “digital twin”, and how Daimler’s IT department is preparing its developers for an “open source” future.

CV

Jan Brecht has served as the Chief Information Officer (CIO) of Daimler since 2015, with global responsibility for IT across all divisions, brands, and markets. Under his management, the IT Strategy “Data is the new Oil” was set up in 2016.

From 2009 to 2015, he worked for the adidas Group, lately as CIO & Head of Global Supply Chain, combining the IT and logistics responsibilities. Previously he had already worked at Daimler since 1997.

Jan Brecht holds a diploma in electrical/communications engineering from the University of Karlsruhe. He also received the international “Tripartite” degree from the Universities of Southampton and ESIEE Paris.

Jan Brecht

Chief Information Officer (CIO), Daimler AG

Digital Beyond The Buzzword

Die Digitalisierung ist inzwischen eine Selbstverständlichkeit in unserem Alltag geworden. Jenseits der Buzzwords hat sie viele Facetten und verändert nicht nur uns und unser Umfeld, sondern erlebt auch selbst eine Entwicklung. Bei Daimler trägt diese Transformation den Namen CASE – Connected, Autonomous, Shared & Services und Electric. Zentraler Treiber dafür ist die IT-Strategie „Data is the New Oil“. Denn datengetriebene Services rund um das Auto sind der Rohstoff der Zukunft.

In seiner Keynote gibt Jan Brecht Einblicke in die Daimler-IT und wie Innovationen über bloße Buzzwords hinaus ganz konkret die Digitalisierung vorantreiben. Etwa wie Künstliche Intelligenz und die Cloud das IT-Backend revolutionieren, warum bald jedes Fahrzeug und jede Fabrikhalle einen „Digitalen Zwilling“ haben werden und wie die Daimler-IT ihre Entwickler fit für eine „Open Source“-Zukunft macht.

Vita

Jan Brecht ist seit 2015 Chief Information Officer (CIO) von Daimler. In dieser Funktion verantwortet er die globale IT für alle Geschäftsbereiche, Marken und Märkte. Unter seiner Leitung wurde 2016 die IT Strategie „Data is the new Oil“ verabschiedet.

Von 2009 bis 2015 war er bei der adidas Gruppe, zuletzt als CIO & Head of Global Supply Chain zuständig für IT und Logistik. Zuvor war er seit 1997 bereits bei Daimler tätig. 

Jan Brecht hat ein Diplom in Elektro-/Nachrichtentechnik der Universität Karlsruhe sowie den internationalen Abschluss „Tripartite“ der Universitäten Southampton und ESIEE Paris.