Frank Loydl

Chief Information Officer, Audi AG

NEXT:IT – how Audi IT is being transformed

NEXT:IT is Audi IT’s response to the corporate goals that AUDI AG has set itself under the 2025 Transformation Plan. The aim is to develop and structure a future-proof Audi IT organization that comprehensively supports both core business activities and new business models. In essence, it now places the focus on technologies instead of individual divisions. One characteristic of NEXT:IT is its agile, participative approach. For example, over 250 employees from across the Audi IT community were actively involved in structuring NEXT:IT during the design phase. In the transformation phase, the results will now be applied iteratively.

In addition to the shared values system as the basis for this transformation, a rigorous separation between structural elements and workflow-oriented processes also influences the future collaboration model.

CV

Frank Loydl was born in Metzingen, Germany, on May 31, 1965.

He studied computer engineering at the University of Cooperative Education in Mannheim. In 1990 he began his professional career at the United States-based IT service provider Electronic Data Systems (EDS). Loydl gained extensive experience there in various positions in the manufacturing industry, particularly in the automotive sector with General Motors.

He moved in 2004 to the British IT service provider Logica CMG, where he was responsible for the IT services for German manufacturing companies. After working at EMC Corporation, a U.S. manufacturer of hardware and software, Loydl was appointed Head of Delivery Management at T-Systems for the account Volkswagen AG in 2009.

Loydl took on this task directly for the Wolfsburg-based automobile group in 2013. At the same time, he headed the company’s IT steering for two years. From 2016 onwards, he was responsible for software development within the Group.

During his time in the Volkswagen’s Group-IT department, Loydl established not only agile work methods but also a value-oriented management model and accompanied the internal change process to become an agile enterprise.

Frank Loydl has been CIO of AUDI AG since February 1, 2018.

Frank Loydl

Chief Information Officer, Audi AG

NEXT:IT – Wie sich die Audi IT transformiert

NEXT:IT ist die Antwort der Audi IT auf die im Rahmen des Transformationsplanes 2025 gesetzten Unternehmensziele der AUDI AG. Ziel ist die Entwicklung und Ausgestaltung einer zukunftssicheren Audi IT-Organisation, die sowohl das Kerngeschäft als auch neue Geschäftsmodelle umfassend unterstützt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Ausrichtung nach Technologien anstatt nach einzelnen Geschäftsbereichen. Charakteristisch für NEXT:IT ist ein agiler und partizipativer Ansatz. So waren beispielsweise über 250 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Audi IT Community während der Design-Phase an der Ausgestaltung von NEXT:IT aktiv beteiligt. In der Transformations-Phase werden die Ergebnisse nun iterativ umgesetzt.

Neben dem gemeinsamen Wertesystem als Grundlage dieser Transformation beeinflusst auch die konsequente Trennung der Strukturelemente von ablauforientierten Prozessen das zukünftige Zusammenarbeitsmodell.

Vita

Frank Loydl wurde am 31. Mai 1965 in Metzingen geboren.

Sein Studium der Technischen Informatik absolvierte er an der Berufsakademie Mannheim. 1990 begann seine berufliche Karriere beim amerikanischen IT-Dienstleister Electronic Data Systems (EDS). Dort sammelte Loydl in verschiedenen Funktionen umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Fertigungsindustrie, insbesondere im Automobil-Sektor bei General Motors.

2004 wechselte er zur britischen IT-Beratung Logica CMG und war dort in der Geschäftsführung für IT-Dienstleistungen für deutsche Fertigungsunternehmen zuständig. Nach einer Station bei EMC Corporation, einem US-amerikanischen Hersteller von Hard- und Software, leitete Loydl ab 2009 bei T-Systems das Delivery Management für den Kunden Volkswagen AG.

Diese Aufgabe übernahm Loydl 2013 schließlich direkt für den Wolfsburger Automobilkonzern. Zugleich leitete er zwei Jahre lang die IT-Steuerung des Unternehmens. Ab 2016 verantwortete er im Konzern die Software Entwicklung.

Während seiner Zeit in der Group-IT von Volkswagen etablierte Loydl neben agilen Arbeitsweisen ein werteorientiertes Führungsmodell und begleitete den internen Veränderungsprozess zu einem agilen Unternehmen.

Seit 1. Februar 2018 ist Frank Loydl CIO der AUDI AG.