Dr. Roland Villinger

Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) and Chief Digital Officer (CDO), AUDI AG

Transformation to a premium digital car company

At Audi, digitalization focuses on the customers. This is why we have set ourselves the goal of seamlessly integrating our products and services into our customers’ digital ecosystem. We also want to reduce complexity at the customer interface and offer customized premium mobility. To achieve this, the vehicle architecture and back-end infrastructure must be capable of adapting quickly and flexibly to a highly dynamic environment. We achieve this by systematically pursuing the further development of our platform architecture and the separation of hardware and software components. The foundation for this lies in making our company more agile and in positioning new business models on an equal footing with the traditional car business.

In his lecture, Dr. Roland Villinger looks at how digitalization offers an opportunity to make our customers’ lives easier, safer and more mobile, and he describes our company’s transformation to a premium digital car company.

CV

Dr. Roland Villinger was born in Munich in 1965. In his hometown, he first studied business management and organizational psychology at Ludwig Maximilians University. After that, he studied at the University of Cambridge in England, where he gained his master’s degree in finance in 1991.

In that year, he started his career at the management consulting firm McKinsey in Munich and Vienna. While working, he gained his doctorate in Cambridge in the field of international management and M&A.

From 1998 until 2014, Dr. Roland Villinger worked for McKinsey at various locations in Asia, as well as at the company’s Silicon Valley Accelerator in 2001. During his time in Asia, he held a number of senior positions for McKinsey. For example, he developed the business in Thailand and Indochina, was responsible for the firm’s operations practice in the Asia-Pacific region, and was most recently country head in South Korea. He returned to McKinsey in Germany in 2014.

Dr. Roland Villinger was elected as a partner at McKinsey in 1999 and as a senior partner in 2005. For several years, he was a member of Mc Kinsey’s global risk management committee and of global partner election and assessment committees.

After 25 years at McKinsey, Dr. Roland Villinger has now become Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) and Chief Digital Officer (CDO) at AUDI AG since October 1, 2016. In this position, he manages the company’s internal digitization initiatives and is also in charge of corporate strategy.

Dr. Roland Villinger is married and has two children.

Dr. Roland Villinger

Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) und Chief Digital Officer (CDO) der AUDI AG

Auf dem Weg zur Premium Digital Car Company

Für Audi steht der Kunde im Mittelpunkt der Digitalisierung. Deshalb haben wir uns zum Ziel gesetzt, unsere Produkte und Services in das digitale Ökosystem unserer Kunden nahtlos zu integrieren. Darüber hinaus wollen wir die Komplexität an der Kundenschnittstelle reduzieren und maßgeschneiderte Premium Mobilität anbieten. Dazu müssen die Fahrzeugarchitektur sowie die Backend-Infrastruktur in der Lage sein, sich schnell und flexibel auf ein hochdynamisches Umfeld anzupassen. Dies erreichen wir durch eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung unserer Plattformarchitektur sowie der Trennung von Hardware- und Softwarekomponenten. Die Grundlage dafür ist, unser Unternehmen agiler aufzustellen und neue Geschäftsmodelle auf Augenhöhe mit dem klassischen Fahrzeuggeschäft zu positionieren

Dr. Roland Villinger geht in seinem Vortrag auf die Chance der Digitalisierung ein, das Leben unserer Kunden zu vereinfachen, sicherer und mobiler zu machen, und beschreibt unseren Weg zur Premium Digital Car Company.

Vita

Dr. Roland Villinger wurde 1965 in München geboren. In seiner Heimatstadt studierte er zunächst an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Betriebswirtschaft und Organisationspsychologie. Anschließend wechselte er an die University of Cambridge in England, wo er 1991 seinen Master in Finanzwissenschaften absolvierte.

Gleichzeitig begann er seine berufliche Karriere bei der Unternehmens- und Strategieberatung McKinsey in München und Wien. Während seiner beruflichen Tätigkeit promovierte er in Cambridge im Bereich Internationales Management und M&A.

Von 1998 bis 2014 arbeitete Dr. Roland Villinger für McKinsey an verschiedenen Standorten in Asien und war 2001 im Silicon Valley Accelerator des Unternehmens. Während seiner Zeit in Asien nahm er eine Reihe von Führungsrollen für McKinsey wahr. So baute er das Thailand- und Indochina-Geschäft auf, verantwortete die Operations-Praxis im Asien/Pazifik-Raum und war zuletzt als Landeschef Südkorea in Seoul tätig. 2014 kehrte er zu McKinsey nach Deutschland zurück.

Dr. Roland Villinger wurde 1999 zum Partner und 2005 zum Senior Partner von McKinsey gewählt. Über viele Jahre hinweg war er Mitglied des globalen Risikomanagement-Komitees sowie globaler Partnerwahl- und Partnerbewertungskomitees des Unternehmens.

Nach 25 Jahren bei McKinsey ist Dr. Roland Villinger seit 1. Oktober 2016 Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) und Chief Digital Officer (CDO) der AUDI AG. In dieser Funktion steuert er die unternehmensinternen Digitalisierungsinitiativen und leitet zugleich die Unternehmensstrategie.

Dr. Roland Villinger ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.