Dr. Roland Schütz

Executive VP Information Management & Lufthansa Group CIO, Deutsche Lufthansa AG

Pillars of Digital Transformation

Current Focus of Lufthansa Group IT to master critical technology assets by building a new, scalable and future proofed IT infrastructure, consolidating the vendor landscape by positioning the internal captive provider as key accelerator of the IT transformation and strengthening our cybersecurity resilience and IT continuity capabilities.

Going forward Lufthansa Group’s IT supports the business strategy by continuously improving stability and productivity as well as enabling flexibility, consolidation, innovation and efficiency.  Advanced analytics and prediction for operational processes,  a facilitation of a seamless customer experience across digital channels and increased usage of customer data group-wide are being extended.

CV

Dr. Roland Schuetz has been Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer (CIO) of the Lufthansa Group since February 2017. In this role, he is in charge of information technology of the entire enterprise and driving the digital transformation of the Lufthansa Group. The aim is to provide customers with state-of-the-art digital interfaces, mobile applications and convenient booking and handling processes across all airline brands and other business segments within the Group.

Schuetz (50) has more than 20 years of IT experience and has been working for the Lufthansa Group since 2005. He has a PhD in Physics and was initially Chief Operating Officer Infrastructure Services at Lufthansa Systems, an IT subsidiary of the Lufthansa Group. In 2010, he took over the responsibility for the IT area of ​​the freight subsidiary Lufthansa Cargo, before he was appointed CIO of the largest business segment Lufthansa Passenger Airlines in 2014 and became CIO of all Lufthansa Group airlines in 2016. Prior to that, he has worked in the finance industry for over ten years and held various leadership positions in IT services organizations.

Dr. Roland Schütz

Executive VP Information Management & Lufthansa Group CIO, Deutsche Lufthansa AG

Säulen der digitalen Transformation

Im Fokus der IT-Abteilung der Lufthansa Group steht die Beherrschbarkeit von aktuellen Technologieträgern durch den Aufbau einer neuen, skalierbaren und zukunftssicheren IT-Infrastruktur, die Konsolidierung der Herstellerlandschaft durch die Positionierung des unternehmenseigenen Providers als Schlüsselbeschleuniger der IT-Transformation und die Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit in Bezug auf Cybersicherheit und dem Fortbestand einer leistungsfähigen IT.

Die IT der Lufthansa Group unterstützt zudem die konzernweite Geschäftsstrategie, indem sie Stabilität und Produktivität kontinuierlich verbessert und Flexibilität, Konsolidierung, Innovation und Effizienz ermöglicht. Erweiterte Analysen und Vorhersagen für betriebliche Prozesse, die Erleichterung einer nahtlosen Kundenerfahrung über digitale Kanäle hinweg und eine verstärkte Nutzung von Kundendaten werden gruppenweit ausgebaut.

Vita

Seit Februar 2017 ist Dr. Roland Schütz Executive Vice President und Chief Information Officer (CIO) des Lufthansa Konzerns. In dieser Rolle verantwortet er die gesamte Konzern-IT und treibt die digitale Transformation der Lufthansa Group sukzessive voran. Ziel ist es, Kunden über alle Airline-Marken und sonstige Geschäftsfelder des Konzerns hinweg mit modernsten digitalen Schnittstellen, mobilen Applikationen und komfortablen Buchungs- und Abfertigungsprozessen zu bedienen.

Schütz (50) verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre IT-Erfahrung und arbeitet seit 2005 für die Lufthansa Group. Der promovierte Physiker war zunächst Chief Operating Officer Infrastructure Services bei Lufthansa Systems, einer IT-Tochter des Lufthansa Konzerns. 2010 übernahm er die Verantwortung für den IT-Bereich der Fracht-Tochter Lufthansa Cargo, ehe er 2014 zum CIO des größten Geschäftsbereichs Lufthansa Passage und 2016 zum CIO aller Fluglinien der Lufthansa Group berufen wurde. Zuvor war er über zehn Jahre in der Finanzindustrie tätig, wo er verschiedene Führungspositionen in IT-Services-Organisationen inne hatte.