Dr. Joseph Reger

Fujitsu Fellow, CTO, Fujitsu CE & EMEIA

A Bridge to Quantum Computing and Why We Need One

The notion of quantum computing and conceivable quantum computers are introduced and described briefly, together with the technology of major existing categories and their relationships. We look at challenging computational problems in various industries. Subsequently, the availability of equipment and algorithms are discussed to address those practical industrial application scenarios. We look at a few select examples, with emphasis on the automotive industry. Following that, we introduce a novel special hardware architecture that delivers a substantial part of the quantum advantage, today. Finally, we touch upon the nature of quantum eco-systems and the required skills to build them.

CV

Joseph Reger is Fujitsu’s Chief Technology Officer (CTO) for the Central Europe and EMEIA (Europe, Middle East, India and Africa) regions. Since 2002, Dr. Reger has been the CTO for various areas of the company. In August 2015, he was awarded the title of Fujitsu Fellow.

As CTO, he advises both the company and its customers in the implementation of new technologies. In this role he is the driving force for Fujitsu’s portfolio and technology strategy. Currently he is focusing on the topics of Quantum Computing, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Industry 4.0 and Blockchain.

A renowned industry expert and visionary, Joseph is recognized for his ability to understand and predict the IT trends that will most impact the future of business. Working with Fujitsu’s customers, he helps to determine and implement the innovations most appropriate to their strategy. His role is paramount in helping Fujitsu choose wisely when deciding on technology directions.

He obtained his PhD at the University of Cologne, and received the highest German academic degree (habilitation) at the University of Mainz.

Dr. Joseph Reger

Fujitsu Fellow, CTO, Fujitsu CE & EMEIA

Eine Brücke zu Quantenrechnern und warum man eine braucht

Der Mechanismus von Quantenrechnen und die heute vorstellbaren Quantenrechner werden eingeführt und kurz beschrieben. Die Technologie der existierenden Bauarten und deren Beziehungen zueinander werden vorgestellt. Wir liefern eine kurze Bestandsaufnahme der rechnerischen Herausforderungen in einigen Industrien und widmen uns den Fragen der Verfügbarkeit von Ausrüstung und Algorithmen, welche diese industriellen Szenarien zu adressieren vermögen. Einige Beispiele, vorwiegend aus der Autoindustrie, werden etwas ausführlicher vorgestellt. Letztlich wird eine neue und neuartige Hardwarearchitektur vorgestellt, die bereits heute in der Lage ist, einen beträchtlichen Teil des sogenannten Quantenvorteils zu liefern. Wir werfen die Frage nach der Beschaffenheit von Quanten-Ökosystemen auf, sowie nach den notwendigen Skills.

Vita

Dr. Joseph Reger ist Chief Technology Officer (CTO) für die Regionen Central Europe sowie EMEIA (Europe, Middle East, India, Africa) bei Fujitsu. Von 2002 an war Dr. Reger als CTO in verschiedenen Bereichen des Unternehmens tätig. Seit August 2015 ist er auch ein Fujitsu Fellow.

Als CTO berät Dr. Reger sowohl das eigene Unternehmen als auch dessen Kunden bei der Einführung von neuen Technologien. In dieser Rolle ist er treibende Kraft für die Portfolio- und Technologie-Strategie von Fujitsu. Er beschäftigt sich aktuell insbesondere mit den Themen Quantencomputing, Künstliche Intelligenz, Internet der Dinge, Industrie 4.0 und Blockchain.

Als anerkannter Industrieexperte und Visionär ist Joseph Reger bekannt für seine Fähigkeit, die IT-Trends zu verstehen und vorherzusagen, von welchen Firmen maßgeblich profitieren werden können.

Joseph Reger promovierte an der Universität Köln und habilitierte an der Universität Mainz.