Dirk Schürmann

Director Automotive & Steel in North and Central Europe

Digital Agenda – Roadmap and solutions for a successful digital transformation in the Automotive industry

Customer expectations, business models and value chains are changing fundamentally.
“Digital truths” permeate all markets and change the business environments at an enormous speed. Getting used to digital life-styles customers expect a “digital aura” in all services.

Fundamental changes like this call for a systematic approach: clear objectives and targets, carefully planned skill building and their practical implementation and deployment.

As a practical application our “Center of Excellence Automotive” shows solutions and approaches on how to implement digital strategies in the Automotive industry. It provides ideas and suggestions on how to build a Digital Agenda. Practical examples illustrate how to bridge from traditional business models into requirements from the digital agenda and to build a sustainable service portfolio.

CV

Dirk Schuermann is Director Automotive & Steel in North and Central Europe at DXC Technology and additionally leads the DXC Ratingen branch.

In the same role already at Hewlett Packard Enterprise he was responsible for P&L across the HPE portfolio with all major OEM companies, Automotive suppliers, major airlines and railways as well as the big players in the European steel market.

Dirk joined Hewlett-Packard in 2004 through acquisition of Triaton, ThyssenKrupp’s captive IT service provider. Appointed as Global Account Executive for ThyssenKrupp he was responsible for P&L across the entire HP portfolio.

Prior to this he led the Sales organization of Triaton, where he achieved double digit growth in the German midsize market. Under his leadership Triaton developed from a captive shop to earning the majority of their revenues in the external market.

Dirk earned his diploma in Business and Economics from Muenster University, Germany, in 1992.

Dirk Schürmann

Direktor für Automotive & Steel für Nord- und Zentral-Europa

Digitale Agenda – Fahrplan und Lösungsansätze für eine erfolgreiche Transformation in der Automotive Branche

Kundenerwartungen, Geschäftsmodelle und Wertschöpfungsketten ändern sich fundamental – Die „digital truths“ durchdringen jeden Markt und verändern Businessumfelder mit einer enormen Geschwindigkeit. Aufgrund der digitalen Lebensstile erwarten die Kunden „digitale Aura“ in allen Services.

Diese Veränderungen erfordern ein systematisches Vorgehen: Eine klare Zielrichtung, ein sorgfältig geplanter Aufbau von zentralen Fähigkeiten, sowie deren praktische Umsetzung.

Doch wie kann dies konkret erfolgen?

Am Beispiel des „Center of Excellence Automotive“ werden Lösungsansätze für die Implementierung einer Digitalisierungsstrategie in der Automobilbranche aufgezeigt, sowie Ideen und Anregungen für die Konzeption einer eigenen digitalen Agenda geliefert. Praktische Beispiele verdeutlichen, wie die Brücke zwischen traditionellen Geschäftsmodellen und den Anforderungen der Digitalisierung gebaut und in ein nachhaltiges Service Portfolio übersetzt werden kann.

Vita

Dirk Schürmann ist Direktor für Automotive & Steel für Nord- und Zentral-Europa bei DXC Technology und Geschäftsstellenleiter der DXC Niederlassung Ratingen.

Er war bereits bei Hewlett Packard Enterprise in gleicher Position verantwortlich für das Geschäftsergebnis über das gesamte HPE Portfolio mit allen wichtigen OEMs, Automotive-Zulieferern, Flug- und Bahngesellschaften sowie Unternehmen in der europäischen Stahlindustrie.

Zu Hewlett-Packard kam er in 2004 durch Akquisition von Triaton, dem firmeneigenen IT-Service-Dienstleister von ThyssenKrupp. Als Global Account Executive hatte er globale Ergebnisverantwortung mit ThyssenKrupp über das gesamte HP-Portfolio.

Zuvor leitete er den Vertrieb der Triaton und erzielte ein zweistelliges Wachstum im deutschen Mittelstandsmarkt. Unter seiner Führung entwickelte sich Triaton von einem reinen internen Vertrieb zu einem Unternehmen, das seinen Umsatz mehrheitlich auf dem externen Markt erzielte.

Sein Diplom in Business and Economics erhielt er 1992 von der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität zu Münster.